Free tickets going fast for U.S. Air Force jazz ensemble concert 

Fewer than 200 free tickets remain for the 48th Annual PSU Jazz Festival Concert, planned for March 4 at Memorial Auditorium in Pittsburg as the culmination of the popular day long festival held at PSU. 

Tickets may be picked up (limit four) at Memorial Auditorium, 503 N. Pine; Root Coffeehouse & Creperie, 402 N. Broadway; and the Music Department Office in McCray Hall at Pittsburg State University. 

Headlining the 7:30 p.m. concert will be the Airmen of Note, the premier jazz ensemble of the United States Air Force.  

Stationed at Joint Base Anacostia-Bolling in Washington, D.C., it is one of six musical ensembles that form The U.S. Air Force Band. It was created in 1950 to continue the tradition of Major Glenn Miller's Army Air Forces dance band, and consists of 18 active-duty musicians, including one vocalist.  

Through the years, the Airmen of Note has presented its own brand of big band jazz as well as more contemporary forms of jazz to audiences via annual tours across the U.S., deployments around the world, and performances throughout metropolitan Washington D.C.  

The group’s commitment to musical excellence has earned the respect of foremost jazz artists worldwide, leading to many collaborative performances and recordings with such luminaries as Dizzy Gillespie, Joe Williams, Sarah Vaughan, and Doc Severinsen.  

The mission of the group is to honor those who have served, inspire American citizens to heightened patriotism and service, and connect with the global community on behalf of the U.S. Air Force and the United States.  

The PSU Jazz Ensemble, directed by Robert Kehle, will open the concert. Throughout the day, student jazz ensembles from 71 high school and middle schools throughout the region will play for judges on campus; those performances also are open to the public. Participating schools include:  


  • Blue Valley North High School 
  • Blue Valley West High School 
  • Iola High School 
  • Iola Middle School 
  • Columbus High School 
  • Frontier Trail Junior High  
  • Galena High School 
  • McLouth High School 
  • Olathe Northwest 
  • Pioneer Trail Middle School  
  • Pittsburg High School 
  • Prairie Trail  
  • Saint Thomas Aquinas High School 
  • Shawnee Mission West High School 
  • Spring Hill High School 
  • Staley High School 
  • Summit Trail Middle School 



  • Anderson County Junior-Senior High 
  • Aurora High School 
  • Ava R-I 
  • Belton High School 
  • Blue Springs High School 
  • Carl Junction High School 
  • Carl Junction High School 
  • Carl Junction Junior High School 
  • Carthage High School 
  • Carthage Junior High School 
  • Central High School 
  • Grandview High School 
  • Grandview Middle School 
  • Joplin High School 
  • Martin City Middle School  
  • Mid-Buchanan R-V  
  • Neosho High School 
  • Neosho Junior High 
  • Ozark High School 
  • Parkhill South  
  • Parkview High School  
  • Raytown Central Middle School 
  • Raytown High School 
  • Reeds Spring High School 
  • Reeds Spring Middle School 
  • Republic Middle School 
  • Seneca High School 
  • Seneca Junior High School  
  • Warrensburg High School 
  • Willard High School  



  • Gravette High School 



  • Oologah High School