PSU announces 2013 Honors College selections

  Friday, March 29, 2013 2:00 AM

Pittsburg, KS

PSU announces 2013 Honors College selections

Pittsburg State University has announced the selection of 35 students for the 2013 Fall Honors College freshman class.

“We are pleased and excited about the 2013 Honors College freshman class,” said Dr. Craig Fuchs, director of the Honors College. “These outstanding young women and men are exceptional not just because of their considerable academic achievements, but also because of their character. We are eager to welcome them to the campus and into the Pittsburg State University family.”

The PSU Honors College was established to attract and retain high-achieving students to the campus and to provide them with an educationally enriched university experience. Application to the Honors College is open to incoming freshmen with an ACT composite score of 28 or higher.

They must have completed a pre-college curriculum and have a high-school GPA of 3.5 or higher.

Students selected for the Honors College are eligible to receive scholarship assistance ranging from $2,200 a year for Crimson and Gold members to $9,500 a year for the Presidential Award. Presidential and University Award recipients are also eligible to receive a one-time, $2,000 study-abroad stipend.


The 2013 Honors College freshmen are:

Chase Mallorquin, The American School of Asuncion, Paraguay

Karsten Creech, Baxter Springs High School

Emma Hogan, Bishop Miege High School (Shawnee, Kan.)

Carson Letchworth, Blue Springs (Mo.) High School

Gavin Houser, Columbus Unified High School

Kristen Dennis, Eudora High School

Faith Davolt, Fort Scott Christian Heights

Hadyn Herlocker, Girard High School

Marcus Platt, Horton High School

Sarah Flowers, Joplin High School

Kristen Hennen, Labette County High School

Heather Glenn, Liberty (Mo.) High School

Phillip Foster, Maize South High School

Katheryn MacGill, Mill Valley High School (Shawnee, Kan.)

Hannah Pio, North Kansas City High School

Stephen Llewellyn, Oakley High School

Sara Murphy, Olathe Northwest High School

Kylie Proctor, Olathe Northwest High School

Hannah Thomas, Ottawa High School

Spencer Bernhardt, Pittsburg High School

Andie Casper, Pittsburg High School

Logan Rink, Pittsburg High School

Mary Spencer, Pittsburg High School

Elizabeth Willis, Pittsburg High School

Elizabeth Beardsley, Riley County High School

Christina Metzger, Saint Thomas Aquinas (Overland Park, Kan.)

Carly Newberry, St. Paul High School

Katelyn Flood, St. Mary's Colgan High School (Pittsburg, Kan.)

Jordyn Showers, Spring Hill High School

Marina Stricklin, Southeast High School

Paige Stainbrook, Uniontown High School

Megan Shumny, Webb City (Mo.) High School

Carlin Greene, Wichita High School East

Hannah Whitesell, Eisenhower High School (Wichita, Kan.)

Steven Tran, Chandler (Ariz.) High School



Connect With Us