Group honors technology educator

  Wednesday, March 13, 2013 2:00 AM

Pittsburg, KS

Group honors technology educator

A Pittsburg State University faculty member has been honored for his achievements in technology education.

Andy Klenke mug shotAndy Klenke, associate professor of technology and engineering education, last week received the Distinguished Technology and Engineering Professional designation by the International Technology and Engineering Educators Association (ITEEA). Klenke was honored March 8 during a ceremony in Columbus, Ohio.

ITEEA created the Distinguished Technology and Engineering Professional (DTE) program to honor educators for outstanding performance and accomplishments in the field of professional technology and engineering education. It is one of the highest honors for professional achievement in technology and engineering education.

Klenke, a member of the PSU faculty since 1998, said he is “humbled” by the honor.

“When I look at the list of names of people in our profession who have received this honor,” he said, “I sometimes can’t believe I’m on there with them. I’m definitely among some pretty good company.”

Mike Neden, also an associate professor in PSU’s Technology and Workforce Learning Department, is a past winner of the DTE award.

Consideration for the award is based upon documented evidence of leadership/management skills, continuing participation in association education programs, and demonstration of leadership in association, community, and personal activities.

Klenke, who has served on the ITEEA International Board of Directors, said the DTE honor is a testament to his devotion to the field of technology and engineering education.

“I have given to my profession, stepped up into leadership positions and have striven to make changes for the better,” he said. “This honor is something earned, and it feels good to be recognized for the work I and many others have put into our field.”

Klenke holds a bachelor of science degree in technology education, a master of science degree in technology education and an education specialist degree in higher education, all from PSU. He earned a doctorate in education from the University of Arkansas.

For more information on the DTE recognition, including a full list of all winners, visit



Connect With Us