split face logo
President's Office
Share page: 

PKP Contact Info

Phi Kappa Phi Chapter 213
President's Office
Russ Hall Room 207
Pittsburg State University
1701 South Broadway
Pittsburg KS 66762

Phone: 620-235-4100
E-mail: phikappaphi@pittstate.edu

To learn more about Phi Kappa Phi International, visit the PKP website or read the PKP Blog

PKP image

Current Phi Kappa Phi Members Announcements

Now Accepting Love of Learning Award Applications

Need funding to attend a conference, support dissertation research, or pay for textbooks? Apply for a Love of Learning Award!

Available for only active Phi Kappa Phi members, Love of Learning Awards help fund postbaccalaureate studies or career development including graduate or professional studies, doctoral dissertations, continuing education, career enrichment activities, and travel related to teaching/studies. One hundred forty-seven awards, valued at $500 each, will be distributed this year. The deadline to apply is June 30.

The competition is open to all active (dues-current) Phi Kappa Phi members who:

  • Have completed their baccalaureate studies by application submission deadline
  • Have not yet received a Fellowship or Award of Excellence grant

Learn more and apply today >>

Call for Poetry Submissions – "Questions"

Phi Kappa Phi Forum seeks original, previously unpublished poetry from active Society members for its summer 2015 edition that will explore the theme of "Questions."

Submissions – one per entrant per issue – should be up to 40 lines long and must reflect the theme of the edition: "Questions."

Entry deadline is midnight, February 1, only by email at poetry@phikappaphi.org.

Click here for submission details >>

Show Your Phi Kappa Phi Pride!

Calling all graduates! Did you wear your Phi Kappa Phi stole, medallion and/or honor cords at your spring 2014 graduation? If you have commencement photos showing your Phi Kappa Phi pride, share them with us for a chance to win up to $100 and be featured in Society materials.

To enter, email your pictures to hbreaux@phikappaphi.org by June 30. Include your name, chapter of initiation, date of graduation, and a brief description of your picture. Please limit your submission to no more than five photos. High resolution .jpeg or .tiff images are preferred. The contest is open to all active Society members.

First place winner will receive $100; second place, $50; third place, $25.

See submissions from previous graduation photo contests >>

Randy Winzer 2013-2014
PSUs Randy Winzer elected South Central Regional Vice President

During the 2014 Biennial Convention in St. Louis, Pittsburg State University Professor and Alumni Randy Winzer was elected as the 2014-2016 South Central Regional Vice President.  Winzer will serve as the society’s vice president of the south central region, which includes Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, Arkansas, Oklahoma, Texas, Louisiana and Mississippi.  He is a member and past president of Phi Kappa Phi Chapter 213 at Pittsburg State.  Congratulations!  continue reading >>

Pittsburg State University Phi Kappa Phi Announces 2014 Initiates and Award Winners

The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi is pleased to announce the 80 initiates into the Phi Kappa Phi Chapter at Pittsburg State University, Chapter 213. Their Initiation Ceremony was held at Pittsburg State University in the Jack H. Overman Student Center on April 13, 2014.  Local chapter president, Dr. Doug Youngerr, presided over the ceremony.  The program included opening remarks by Dr. Steve Scott, President of Pittsburg State University and guest speaker, Mr. Shawn Naccarato, Director of Government and Community Relations at Pittsburg State University.  See Induction at the left for a list of the student initiates.

Phi Kappa Phi Chapter 213 is proud to announce their
Chapter 213 Award winner for 2014-2015, Linda Muffoletto and

the Chapter’s nominee Boya Abudu for the 2014 PKP International Fellowship Award

Ms. Muffoletto is pursuing a Bachelor’s degree in Psychology and Counseling and a dual emphasis of Substance Abuse Counseling and Human Resource Development and expects to complete her degrees this summer. Starting Fall 2014, she will be seeking a Master's of Science in Clinical Mental Health. She is currently a member of PSU's Students for Violence Prevention (SVP) and have recently received an award for excellence in research from the Psychology Department at PSU.

Each spring, every local chapter of Phi Kappa Phi is asked to forward one single nominee to the National headquarters to compete for one of dozens of Fellowship Awards.  This year, Pittsburg State University, Chapter #213 selected Boya Abudu as our fellowship nominee. Ms. Abudu plans to graduate in May with a Bachelor of Science degree, majoring in Biology with minors in Chemistry and Physical Science. She will be pursuing a career in medicine (M.D.) and has been accepted to several medical schools.

Phi Kappa Phi Chapter 213 is proud to announce their
PSU 2014 Faculty Initiates

This year, we are proud to announce four PSU Faculty Initiates into our chapter:  Christine Mekkaoui, Director of Intensive English Programs; Holly J. Page-Sagehorn, Assistant Professor in School of Construction; Barry J. Wilson, Chair/Associate Professor in Graphic and Imaging Technologies; and Lee Young, Associate Vice President of Enrollment Management and Student Success.

Officers of Chapter 213

President:Dr. Doug Younger

Vice President/President-Elect:
Dr. Peggy Snyder

Student Vice President:
Danielle Ackermann & Lauren Simmons

Secretary: Dr. Lynn Murray

Treasurer:Dr. Tim Flood

Public Relations:
Ms. Donna Sue Pintar

Scholarships/Awards Officer:
Dr. Lynn Murray & Mr. Randy Winzer

Chapter Administrative Assistant:
Ms. Kristi Toeller

Merit symbol