Pittsburg State University
Tobacco task force policy header image
Tobacco Policy Focus Groups
  • Thursday, Feb. 7th, 2013
    External Stakeholders
  • Tuesday, Feb. 12th, 2013
  • Thursday, Feb. 14th, 2013
    Classified Staff
  • Friday, Feb. 15th, 2013
    University Police/ Enforcement
  • Thursday, Feb. 21st, 2013
    Unclassified Staff
  • Friday, Feb. 22nd, 2013
Tobacco Policy Campus Wide Open Forum

Tobacco Policy Task Force

Feasibility of making the campus tobacco free

Final Report PDF icon

The Pittsburg State University Tobacco Policy Task Force was formed to explore the feasibility of making the campus tobacco free. This initiative builds upon the university’s past efforts to determine which policies should govern the use of tobacco products at PSU and comes after students voted overwhelming in a referendum this past spring to recommend that the campus move to a completely tobacco-free environment.

The task force, through studies and discussions with various stakeholders, will assess the effectiveness of current PSU tobacco policies, review policies of similar institutions, and identify the potential positive and negative effects of making the campus tobacco-free.


The Tobacco Policy Task Force will be led by Jim Triplett, a professor in the Department of Biology, and Rita Girth, operations director of the Bryant Student Health Center.

Through supportive funding through the Kansas Health Foundation grant, Pittsburg State University has obtained the consulting services of Ty Patterson. Ty is the director of the National Center of Tobacco Policy. He is a highly regarded expert on developing and implementing tobacco policies for higher education institutions, and will be offering assistance to the Task Force as it conducts its work.

Members of the task force

Rita Girth - Co-Chair, Jim Triplett - Co-Chair, Kafui Alomenu - SGA, Dr. Bert Patrick - Faculty Senate, Barb Circle - Classified Senate, Mike McCracken - University Police, Connie Malle - University Housing, Debbie Amershek - Human Resources, Ashley Hedden - Graduate Student, Serif Uran - PSU-KNEA, Cathy Lee Arcuino - Unclassified Senate, Natalie Cullen - Intercollegiate Athletics, Chris Kelly - University Marketing & Communication, J.T. Knoll - Wellness and Prevention, and Val Engstrom - Admission.


A final report with recommendations is expected to be delivered to PSU President Steve Scott in May 2013.

News and Media Coverage


Meeting & Forum Summaries