split face logo
Department of Physics
Share page: 

Physics Contact

Interim Department Chair:

David Kuehn

* is a required field

Contact Person:
Desirae Tyler

* is a required field

Phone: 620-235-4391
Fax: 620-235-4050

Physics Department
Yates Hall Room 307
Pittsburg State University
1701 South Broadway
Pittsburg KS 66762

Department of Physics Faculty and Staff

David Kuehn


David M. Kuehn, Interim Chair
301 Yates Hall, (620) 235-4388
Ph.D. 1990, New Mexico State University
Research interests: Planetary astronomy, computational physics, scientific instrument development


Desirae Tyler, Administrative Specialist
307 Yates Hall, (620) 235-4391

Current Faculty

Chuck Blatchley


Charles C. Blatchley, Professor,
307 Yates Hall, (620) 235-4398
Ph.D. 1984, Louisiana State University
Research interests: Radionuclide applications


Rebecca Butler


Rebecca Butler, Associate Professor
303 Yates Hall, (620) 235-6191
Ph.D. 2002, Ohio State University
Research interests: Molecular spectroscopy


Benjamin Tayo


Benjamin Tayo, Assistant Professor
302 Yates Hall, (620) 235-4922
Ph.D. 2012, Lehigh University
Research interests: Physics of carbon nanomaterials for optoelectronic applications


Serif Uran


Serif Uran, Associate Professor
300 Yates Hall, (620) 235-4395
Ph.D. 2000, Illinois Institute of Technology
Research interests: Nanotechnology and fabrication, corrosion protection, graphene studies


Kyla Scarborough, Instructor
304 Yates Hall, (620) 235-4292
M.S. 2005, Pittsburg State University
Research interests: Planetary astronomy

Angelyn Hobson, Lecturer
305 Yates Hall, (620) 235-4391

Retired Faculty

Robert J. Backes, Professor

Orville Brill, Professor

T. Bruce Daniel, Professor

James E. Thomas, Professor