Share page: 

Kansas Collegiate Mathematics Competition

The 10th Kansas Collegiate Mathematics Competition will be held on March 28th, 2015, at Fort Scott Community College, in conjunction with the 2015 MAA Kansas Sectional Meeting.

The competition will be held from 8:00am to 11:00am.  Please register the teams by March 22nd by submitting the form at the website

The format of the competition will be different this year; the competition will be a team competition, with no individual component. Teams may consist of two or three students.  Any community college, college, or university in Kansas may send up to two teams.  Each team will work together to solve a problem set of about 10 problems.

Most of the problems will be accessible to sophomore students and even well-prepared freshmen who have had the calculus sequence, some probability, and some discrete mathematics.

Each problem is worth 10 points and will be scored by faculty from participating schools.  For full credit on a problem, the answer must be correct and all supporting work must be shown.

Calculators are allowed. No books, notes, or other electronic devices may be used during the competition.

The members of the top six teams in the competition will receive cash prizes.  The top three teams will receive plaques.  In addition, there will be a cash prize for the members of the top scoring team from a community college.

Each institution registering teams must have a coach, who is expected to assist in grading the exam after the competition.

In addition, we welcome suggestions for problems to be included on the exams.  Please email problems to Mat or I for consideration by March 22nd.

Registration for the competition is free.  However, we do ask that you and your students register for the MAA Kansas Sectional Meeting.  Registration information and forms are available at

Please direct questions about the competition to Jeremy Wade or Mat Johnson (matjohn(AT)ku(DOT)edu).  Questions about the KSMAA Sectional Meeting should be directed to the meeting organizer, Dee Ann Vanluyck.

Problems and Solutions from Previous Competitions

2014 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005