split face logo
Department of Economics, Finance & Banking
Share page: 

 Economics Honor Society ODE

International Honor Society in Economics
Omicron Delta Epsilon
Kansas Delta Chapter

Omicron Delta Epsilon, one of the largest academic honor societies, was established in 1963 as a result of a merger of two honor societies: Omicron Delta Gamma (founded in 1915 by Professor John R. Commons at the University of Wisconsin and Frank W. Taussig at Harvard University) and Omicron Chi Epsilon (founded in 1955 by Professor Alan A. Brown when he was a student at City College of New York). It became an international honor society in economics in 1969.

The Delta Chapter of Kansas at Pittsburg State University was approved by the International Board on January 19, 1976, and became the 327th chapter in the international society.

Omicron Delta Epsilon is an honor society for men and women with outstanding achievement in economics. The objectives of the Society are:

  • Recognition of scholastic attainment in economics.
  • Recognition of outstanding achievement in economics on the part of economists at all levels.
  • The establishment of closer ties between students and faculty in economics within their own colleges and universities.
  • The establishment of closer ties between students and faculty in economics on all campuses.
  • The publication of an official journal, The American Economist.
  • To emphasize the professional aspects of economics as a career for service in the academic world, business, government, and international organizations.

Faculty Advisors