Share page: 

School of Construction Contact

Department Chair:

Jim Otter -

* is a required field

Contact Person:
Kate Garrie -

* is a required field

Phone: 620-235-6555
Fax: 620-235-6558

1701 S. Broadway St
Pittsburg, KS 66762

Physical Address:
Kansas Technology Center, W223
909 East Ford St.
Pittsburg, KS 66762

Construction students have the opportunity to get involved in different program-related organizations. Those include the following:

Associated General Contractors (AGC) Student Chapter

Advisor: Joe Levens
2015-16 Officers:

President - Blake Swaggerty, Vice-Pres. - Stetson Beck
Treasurer - Alex Watson, Secretary - Samantha Ghareeb

Past President - Lauren Bohannon

AGC Student Chapter Sponsor Organizations

American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE) Student Chapter

Advisor: Pat Flynn

Garrett Sebert (President), Zach Axton (Vice-President)
Ryan Lechien (Secretary), Devin Layton (Treasurer)

Design-Build Institute of America (DBIA)

Advisor: Norman Philipp

Mechanical Contractors of America (MCA) Student Chapter

Advisor: Shannon Nicklaus
2014-15 Officers:

President - Shontae Cobb, Vice President - Ben Herzberg
Secretary - Nick Renfro, Treasurer - Taylor Peak
MCA Liaison - Brady Kyle

Student Chapter Sponsoring Organizations:

National Association of Home Builders (NAHB)

Advisor: Justin Honey
2015-16 Officers:

Chase Rein

Chase Rein

Blaine Reinking

Blaine Reinking

Sam Wolf


Women in Construction (WIC) 

Advisor: Jenny McCool
National Association of Women in Construction (NAWIC)

Sigma Lambda Chi Mu Chapter (National Construction Honor Society)

Advisor: Dennis Audo


Meeting Schedule
Organization Dates Time Room
Joint Construction Student Organization

1st Monday each month
(with a guest speaker)

AGC Student Chapter 2nd and 4th
Monday each month
5pm, 6pm or 7pm W212
ASSE Student Chapter 2nd and 4th
Monday each month
4:15 pm E119
DBIA 1st & 3rd Tuesday each month 6:00pm
MCA Student Chapter 2nd and 4th
Thursday each month
6:00 pm W203
NAHB 1st and 3rd Thursday each month 5:00 pm W212
WIC 2nd and 4th
Thursday each month
5pm W203