• Homect_img
  • K-INBRE at PittState Biology
Share page: 



Kansas IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence
at Pittsburg State University


Pittsburg State faculty and students are involved in a federally-funded effort to enhance biomedical research and training. This web site describes the activities of the program on this campus.

The National Center for Research Resources (NCRR) in the National Institutes of Health (NIH) provides Institutional Development Awards (IDeA) to foster research within states that traditionally have not received significant levels of competitive funding from the NIH. One of the approaches of the IDeA Program and the source of support on this campus was the Biomedical Research Infrastructure Networks (BRIN) now referred to as the Kansas IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence (K-INBRE).

The objectives of K-INBRE are to:

  • bring together institutions within a state to establish a network,
  • provide competitive funding to the state-based network,
  • support institutional alterations and renovations,
  • provide funding for modern laboratory equipment, and
  • assist in the recruitment of new faculty.

K-INBRE funding is also intended to strengthen the basic science departments of the undergraduate institutions in the network by involving students in research. The undergraduate institutions also serve an important "feeder" role to the science departments of graduate schools within the IDeA-eligible areas.

The lead campus for K-INBRE is the University of Kansas Medical Center. Participants in Kansas K-INBRE in addition to Pittsburg State University are Emporia State University, Forth Hays State University, Haskell Indian Nation University, Kansas State University, University of Kansas, Lawrence, Washburn University, and Wichita State University.

PittState K-INBRE attendees from Biology and Chemistry at the 2015 Conference

First Row, Left to Right
Xiaolu Wu, Anuradha Bhusri, Lindsey Oneal, Irene Zegar, Tuhina Santra, Santi Santra, Samantha Meneely, Kalee Woody, Rachel Miller, Ashley Jimenez, Mandy Peak, Hannah Devries

Second Row, Left to right
Jody Neef, Deaven Thompson, Trista Dugan, David Schlee, Tayita Abudu, Maria Newmaster, Ali Hroobi

Third Row, Left to right
Dave Gordon, Ram Raghaven, Nelson Elbers, Virginia Rider, John Candler, Josh Yeomans, Peter Chung

Fourth Row, Left to right
Blaze Heckert, James McAfee, Phil Harries, Jayden Bowen, Karsten Kreech, Raymond Westby, Evan Noel


Campus Representative (and Faculty Mentor)

  • Dr. Virginia Rider, Biology [phone: 620.235.4739 / fax: 620.235.4194 / Contact]

Faculty Mentors

  • Dr. Peter Chung, Biology [phone: 620.235.4736 / fax: 620.235.4194 / Contact]
  • Dr. David M. Gordon, Biology [phone: 620.235.4735 / fax: 620.235.4194 / Contact]
  • Dr. Phillip Harries, Biology [phone: 620.235.4864 / fax: 620.235.4194 / Contact]
  • Dr. James McAfee, Chemistry [phone: 620.235.4750 / Contact]
  • Dr. Jody Neef, Chemistry [phone: 620.235.4494 / Contact]
  • Dr. Mandy Peak Bryan, Biology [phone: 620.235.4744 / fax: 620.235.4194 / Contact]
  • Dr. Santimukul Santra, Chemistry [phone: 620.235.4861 / Contact]
  • Dr. Neil Snow, Biology [phone: 620.235.4424 / fax: 620.235.4194 / Contact]
  • Dr. Xiaolu Wu, Biology [phone: 620.235.4733 / fax: 620.235.4194 / Contact]
  • Dr. Irene Zegar, Chemistry [phone: 620.235.4903 / Contact]
  • Dr. Daniel Zurek, Biology [phone: 620.235.4746 / fax: 620.235.4194 / Contact]

Mailing Address:

Department of Biology [or Department of Chemistry]
Pittsburg State University
1701 S. Broadway
Pittsburg, KS 6676