Share page: 
Steven Lin, piano
Steven Lin, piano
Solo & Chamber Music Series
When:  Fri, September 8 2017 07:30 PM - 09:00 PM
Location:  Bicknell Family Center for the Arts, Linda & Lee Scott Performance Hall
Address:  Bicknell Family Center for the Arts, 1711 S. Homer, Pittsburg KS 66762
Tickets:  $8-$12
Order by phone and other information Discounted tickets for PSU students are available, with valid PSU ID, purchased and picked up in person, at PSU Ticket Office in Room 137 of the Weede Physical Education Building. Solo & Chamber Ticket Packages & Season Tickets Student FREE with valid PSU student ID

Change of location: please note this concert is at the Bicknell Family Center for the Arts.

Taiwanese American pianist Steven Lin is an immediately engaging and imaginative young artist, applauded by the New York Times for playing music that is "...immaculately voiced and enhanced by admirable subtleties of shading and dynamics," and his growing list of awards features the Concert Artists Guild Competition and the John Giordano Jury Chairman Discretionary Award at the 2013 Van Cliburn International Piano Competition. His dynamic playing at the 2014 Arthur Rubinstein Piano Competition was recognized when he was awarded the Silver Medal as well as numerous performance prize engagements.

Steven Lin's artistry was clear from an early age when he was accepted by The Julliard School on a full scholarship to study with Yoheved Kaplinsky at the age of 10, which in turn led to his debut with the New York Philharmonic in Avery Fisher Hall when he was only 13. His schedule in recent years has included recitals and concerto appearances throughout the world. He was appeared on numerous radio broadcasts and is featured prominently in the Cliburn Competition documentary film, Virtuosity, which premiered on PBS in 2015.

When not making music, Steven describes himself as an 'NBA basketball fanatic.' Despite living most of his life on the east coast, he is a passionate L.A. Lakers fan.

FELIX MENDELSSOHN                   Rondo Capriccioso in E Major, Op. 14

GEORGE GERSHWIN                     

Oh, Lady Be Good

Strike Up the Band

Do it Again

I Got Rhythm

The Man I Love


ROBERT SCHUMANN                     Symphonic Etudes, Op. 13

 Theme - Andante

Etude I (Variation 1) - Un poco più vivo

Etude II (Variation 2) - Espressivo

Etude III - Vivace

Etude IV (Variation 3) - Allegro marcato

Etude V (Variation 4) - Scherzando

Etude VI (Variation 5) - Agitato

Etude VII (Variation 6) - Allegro molto

Etude VIII (Variation 7) - Sempre marcatissimo

Etude IX - Presto possibile

Etude X (Variation 8) - Allegro con energia

Etude XI (Variation 9) - Andante espressivo

Etude XII (Finale) - Allegro brillant

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN                       Sonata No. 21 in C Major, Op. 53, “Waldstein”

  Allegro con brio

Introduzione: Adagio molto (attacca)

Rondo. Allegretto moderato - Prestissimo

FRANZ LISZT Réminiscences de Don Juan (S. 418

Program subject to change

Add To Your Calendar: Export to iCal

Share this event