Share page: 

Contact Information

Alumni and Constituent Relations
Wilkinson Alumni Center
401 E Ford Ave
Pittsburg, KS 66762

Phone: 620-235-4758

The Faculty Award was established as part of the Apple Day celebration in the early 1980s and has been through several name changes. In the early 1980's, the Academic Affairs officer of the Student Government Association (SGA) coordinated the nominations and selection.

In March 1986, it was renamed to the Outstanding Faculty Award. Nominations were received from deans, chairmen, and presidents of student organizations. A questionnaire was then sent to chairmen and deans of each nominee asking them to name five significant contributions the nominee made in the areas of instruction, scholarship, service and participation in community and student organizations. The award committee which had instituted and organized the process then evaluated the nominees, selecting three faculty for the award.

During the 2006 Apple Day convocation, Dr. Robert K. Ratzlaff, Vice President for Academic Affairs, was honored for his service to PSU and it was announcement that the award was being named for Dr. Ratzlaff. The Award was first listed as the Robert K. Ratzlaff Outstanding Faculty Award in the 2007 program.

SGA continues to recognize three faculty members, selected from student and student organization nominees, during Apple Day Convocation for their excellence in instruction and service to students on campus with the Robert K. Ratzlaff Outstanding Faculty Award medallion.

Past Winners
2017 - Paul McCallum, Gail Yarick, Jamie McDaniel

2016 - John Thompson, Xiaolu Wu, Clark Shaver

2015 - Phillip Harries, Phil McNew, Jeff Poe

- Donald Baack, Cynthia Huffman,
Darren Botello-Samson
2013 - Tatiana Sildus, Aesha John, Troy Comeau

2012 - Paul McCallum, Grant Moss, Craig Fuchs

2011 - Scott Gorman, Virginia Rider, Janice Jewett

2010 - Bob Schroer, Cynthia Woodburn, Ron Downing

2009 - Mark Johnson, Chris Fogliasso, Mark Peterson

2008 - Daniel Zurek, James McAfee, Barbara McClaskey

2007 - Tysha Potter, Mark Peterson, Brenda Letender
2006 - Julie Allison, Russell Rosmait,
Rebecca Groves Brannock (not pictured)

2005 - Daniel Ferguson, Barbara McClaskey, David Hurford

2004 - Tysha Potter, Robert "Bob" Susnik, Mark Johnson

2003 - Mark Peterson, Irene Zegar, Kevin Bracker

2002 - Julie Allison, Kurt Reding, Daniel Zurek

2001 - Nancy Durbin, Craig Fuchs, Gary Wilson

2000 - Rebecca Groves Brannock, Christine Fogliasso, Tysha Potter VanBecelaere

1999 - John Daley, Susan Marchant, Mark Peterson

1998 - Christine Fogliasso, David P. Hurford, Alice Sagehorn

1997 - Ellen Carson, Mark Peterson, Marjorie Schick

1996 - E. Sutton Flynt, Janice L. Jewett, Alice Sagehorn

1995 - Mark Johnson, Susan Marchant, David O'Bryan

1994 - Christine Fogliasso, David P. Hurford, Russell Rosmait

1993 - Stephen Hoyer, Linda Jones McCoy, David W. O'Bryan

1992 - Christine Fog, Bert Patrick, C. David Rowlette

1991 - James AuBuchon, Charles Fischer, Mary Kay Wachter

1990 - Christine Fogliasso, Stephen Hoyer, Joseph Arruda

1989 - Glen Mclarer, Paul Santulli, Donald Viney

1988 - Ralph Kelting, Wilmer Huffman, Rathindra Bose

1987 - Jerry Stockard, Nick Henry, Leland Keller

1986 - Christine Fogliasso, Ronald Wood, Richard Weathers